GMV is the Gross Merchandise Value that can be associated with an ad interaction over time. Put another way, it is the revenue an advertiser makes from selling products due to a Kevel event (impression, click, conversion, etc.). Kevel gives you the flexibility to decide how you want to attribute GMV to your ad campaigns. To put more context behind it, you may have heard GMV called ad revenue, conversion value, transaction value, etc.
GMV can be tracked on impressions, clicks, conversions, and custom events. Once you’ve decided on the event that you want to attribute GMV to, you will need to append the query parameter
gmv to the event tracking URL from the Decision API response (the URL associated with the event id) with the event’s GMV as the value. For example,
?gmv=1.64 sets a GMV of $1.64 for the event.
The GMV will then be recorded in the data shipping logs for that event. GMV will also be returned via the Real Time Reporting API and in reports.
ROAS is one way advertisers measure the efficacy of their ad campaigns. The formula for ROAS = (Gross Merchandise Value / Revenue)*100. For example, if an advertiser spent $1,000 in advertising spend (represented by Revenue in the Kevel) to promote the purchase of an item, and at the end of the campaign the gross merchandise value that can be attributed back to ad spend is $5,000, ROAS would simply be represented as ($5,000 / $1,000)*100 = 500%. This can be interpreted as for every $1 of ad spend, your advertiser earned $5.
Since ROAS is a function of GMV/Revenue, as long as you are tracking both GMV and Revenue in Kevel you will see ROAS populate for Real-Time Reporting and Scheduled Reporting as well as within the Kevel UI on the Campaigns, Flights, Ads, and Advertisers screens.
Upcoming work will enable ROAS targeting / bidding, if this is something you’re interested in, reach out to your Customer Success Manager or [email protected] to let us know.
Updated 3 months ago